There are 4 course statuses on the Gateway Academy platform - Draft, Testing, Live, Archived.
While a course is being developed it is in Draft mode and any changes can be made to its contents.
Once a course content is uploaded to the platform, it is ready to be tested. When set in a Test mode, testers can be added and they will be able to go through the course from a learner's perspective. Changes can't be made while the course is in testing mode. However, if switched back to Draft mode, updates can be made.
A course is set to Live when it is ready to run. Self-paced courses (Type A) in status Live will be visible to all learners and they will be able to access general information about the course like duration and learning objectives. Learners won't be able to start it, unless a champion from their organization grants them access.
Cohort based courses (Facilitated and Collaborative workshops - type B and C)) will not be visible to learners unless there is a cohort scheduled.
A course in Live mode can be switched back to Draft only if it has no active learners. In this case changes like moving learning assets around, adding or deleting topics and modules are not possible. Minor changes like text and links edits are possible.
If changes like moving learning assets around, adding or deleting topics and modules are necessary, those can be creating a new version of the course through duplication.
If a course new version of a course is created, the old one should be archived.
Here is a video that shows how the different statuses work.